Interreg V (2014-2020)

The Interreg V EMR programme (2014-2020) aims to remove bottlenecks and practical barriers with a view to enhancing the potential of (and within) the Meuse-Rhine Euregio.

Interreg EMR finances cross-border projects with funds drawn from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). From the regions and from  own sources of project partners funds can also be made available. By supporting cross-border cooperation, the programme Interreg Euregio Meuse-Rhine contributes to the quality of life of the Euregio’s four million or so inhabitants.

The four priorities are: 
Social inclusion and education
Territorial development

The European Union has made 96 million euros available from the ERDF for the Interreg V-A programme in the Meuse-Rhine Euregio (2014-2020). Since projects can draw up to 70% of their budgets from ERDF funding, the programme’s total budget will exceed 140 million euros. It will provide a powerful impetus for investment in the Meuse-Rhine Euregio.

Previous Interreg programmes
Interreg programmes I (1990-1993), II (1994-1999), III (2000-2006) and IV (2007-2013) targeted the social domain and community-related matters - e.g. culture, health and tourism – as priorities. During Interreg IV (2007-2013), the emphasis shifted mainly to the economy. This led to four new investment priorities being added to the Interreg V EMR programme (2014–2020).

Meuse-Rhine Euregio and Interreg

The programme area Interreg EMR encompasses the Meuse-Rhine Euregio and a number of adjoining areas. The Meuse-Rhine Euregio (EMR) is one of the oldest Euroregions in the European Union, an alliance between three countries and five partner regions that has existed since 1976.

The alliance presents an exceptional challenge in terms of cross-border cooperation and is unique because of its situation in the border region at the heart of Europe. Located at the ‘crossroads’ of Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands, it is a region of different languages, landscapes and cultures that are valued and enjoyed beyond their own borders. The members of the Meuse-Rhine Euregio are the southern and central regions of the Dutch Province of Limburg, the German Aachen Region, parts of Rhineland-Palatinate, the German-Speaking Community of Belgium, and the Belgian Provinces of Liège and Limburg. Since the start of the Interreg programme, these core members have cooperated with Germany’s Bitburg-Prüm and Vulkaneifel Districts.

These seven regions, together with the Netherlands’ Southeast Brabant region and the Belgian Province of Flemish Brabant, form the entire Meuse-Rhine Euregio Interreg programme area.

Help us build a strong Meuse-Rhine Euregio

The EMR’s main aim is to develop into a cutting-edge knowledge area and top technology region, with a competitive economy and an excellent quality of life in an inclusive community that creates jobs. More explicitly, the EMR partners want to capitalise on the region’s specified strengths and opportunities, and address several policy-related challenges that the partner regions have identified.

The Meuse-Rhine Euregio Interreg programme area

The map shows which regions make up the Meuse-Rhine Euregio. For more information about the relevant regions, please visit the websites of the Meuse-Rhine Euregio members (provinces and regions).

Netherlands (Dutch Province of Limburg)
Germany (Aachen Region) and parts of Rhineland-Palatinate
Wallonia (Province of Liège)
Flanders (Belgian Province of Limburg)
Flemish Brabant (Belgium)
Noord-Brabant (Netherlands). 

The history of Interreg

The first European Territorial Cooperation programme – also known as interregional cooperation – was launched in 1989 as the result of one of the European Commission’s Community Initiatives.

The name Interreg was born. The Interreg programme aims to enhance economic and social cohesion within the European Union. Its purpose is to encourage trans-European cooperation in order to promote European integration and ensure a level playing field for development throughout the entire area. To that end, the programme funds initiatives promoting cooperation between regions in different Member States, so that discrepancies in economic development on the one hand and national borders on the other do not block the path towards achieving these objectives.