About Interreg

Interreg is a European Union programme that funds regional and cross-border development. Its objective is the economic, social and territorial development of the European Union. Interreg is part of the European Union’s Cohesion Policy and provides EUR 359 million of subsidies from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF).

Interreg is built around three strands of cooperation: cross-border (Interreg A), transnational (Interreg B) and interregional (Interreg C). Interreg Euregio Meuse Rhine is a cross-border programme (sometimes indicated with an 'A'). 

60 cross-border programmes are running in Europe and cover 38 internal borders of the European Union.

Interreg V regions in Europe - 2014-2020

Programme periods

Interreg is currently in the 5th period. This is usually indicated with a Roman 'V'. The 6th period of Interreg, Interreg VI, will run from 2021 until 2027.

  • Interreg I (1990-1993)
  • Interreg II (1994-1999)
  • Interreg III (2000-2006)
  • Interreg V (2007-2013)
  • Interreg V (2014-2020)
  • Interreg VI (2021-2027)

Investment priorities

Interreg follows the objectives of the European Union’s 2020 strategy. This strategy sets sustainable, intelligent and inclusive growth as the European Union’s main objectives for 2020.

The 2020 strategy lists 11 specific objectives (see image). Every Interreg programme must concentrate 80% of their European Regional Development Fund allocation on 4 of the 11 thematic objectives.