What is Interreg Euregio Meuse-Rhine?

Interreg Euregio-Maas-Rhine is one of the 60 Interreg areas in Europe where European Union funds are made available for cross-border collaboration. Its area covers parts of Belgium, Germany and The Netherlands.


Interreg Euregio Meuse-Rhine finances projects up to 50% with means from the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). A total of € 96 million of means from the ERDF is available for the period 2014-2020. The partner regions of Interreg Euregio Maas-Rijn provide co-financing.

Partner regions

Interreg Euregio Meuse-Rhine is a collaboration between 13 regions.

Belgium Germany The Netherlands
  • German-speaking Community of Belgium
  • Flanders
  • Province of Flemish-Brabant
  • Province of Liège
  • Province of Limburg
  • Wallonia-Brussels Federation
  • Walloon Region
  • Aachen region
  • North Rhine-Westphalia
  • Rhineland-Palatinate
  • Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy
  • Province of Limburg
  • Province of Noord-Brabant


Interreg and the Euregio: who is who?

Interreg Euregio Meuse-Rhine and the Euregio are two distinct organisations. While the first is a Europe Commission subsidy programme, the second is a partnership between regions.
The Euregio is a partner of Interreg Euregio Meuse-Rhine and manages Interreg's People to People projects 'micro projects'. These are cross-border exchanges. You find the Euregio at www.euregio-mr.info.

Our investment priorities (2014-2020)

Interreg Euregio Meuse-Rhine has selected four investment priorities for the period 2014-2020. Projects should address one of the four to be eligible for project funding.

  1. Innovation
  2. Economy
  3. Social inclusion and education
  4. Territorial cohesion

These four investment priorities are linked to the European Union’s objectives from the 2020 strategy. This strategy sets sustainable, intelligent and inclusive growth as the main goal for the European Union for 2020. More specifically, it lists 11 thematic objectives.

Interreg programmes are required allocate 80% of their spending of the European Regional Development Fund on 4 of the 11 thematic objectives of the European Union.

What is Interreg?

Every border region in Europe has its own Interreg programme. Interreg is a European Union funding programme that addresses disparities between regions and encourages cross-border collaboration. Its objective is the economic, social and territorial development of Europe’s regions. Interreg is managed by the European Commission’s Directorate for Regional and Urban Policy.

European Regional Development Fund

Interreg is part of the European Union’s Cohesion Policy and is funded by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF). This fund strengthens economic and social cohesion in the European Union by correcting imbalances between regions. A total of € 10.1 million of subsidies from the European Regional Development Fund is available for the period 2014-2020.

Programme periods

Interreg is currently in the 5th period which runs from 2014 to 2020. The fifth period is usually indicated with a Roman 'V'. The next period (‘Interreg VI’) will run from 2021 until 2027.

Interreg I Interreg II Interreg III Interreg IV Interreg V Interreg VI
1990-1993 1994-1999 2000-2006 2007-2013 2014-2020 2021-2027

Interreg A, B and C

Interreg has three strands of cooperation: cross-border (‘Interreg A’), transnational (‘Interreg B’) and interregional (‘Interreg C’). Interreg Euregio Meuse Rhine is a cross-border programme (sometimes indicated with an 'A').

Cross border programmes are meant to encourage collaboration in border regions. Projects that receive Interreg funding should be run by organisations from at least two EU member states. The 60 cross-border programmes of Interreg cover 38 internal borders of the European Union. A total of EUR 6.6 billion from the European regional Development Fund is available for cross-border programmes for 2014-2020.

Interreg A Interreg B Interreg C
Cross-border Transnational Interregional